ResellerClub Review: How Do 75 Users Rate Their Reseller Hosting Plans?

ResellerClub Web Host Review

ResellerClub is a hosting provider based in India that, as the name suggests, focuses on hosting reselling.

The company is part of the massive Endurance International Group empire with offices in Mumbai and Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

ResellerClub General Information

General Information

Their servers are located in Austin, Texas, the UK, India, and Hong Kong.

They’re hoping to capture more international business with a 24/7 helpline and dirt-cheap prices listed in US dollars. At the time of writing, they were offering substantial discounts on their services. But are they too good to be true?

ResellerClub Home Page
Screenshot via ResellerClub

Common Hosting Features

Across its offerings, ResellerClub has some features in common:

  1. 30-day money-back guarantee
  2. Choice of servers
  3. SSH access (full root on VPS and dedicated server plans)
  4. cPanel or Plesk control panel
  5. One-click installs

ResellerClub Web Hosting

ResellerClub Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 75 Reviews by ResellerClub Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

Thomas Schittli avatar
Thomas Schittli kleiderdienst-tabitha.ch
Sep 14, 2018

The last year, we had a monthly account and compared to Dathorn, ResellerClub has much more issues and Downtimes, but offers much more Diskspace / Bandwidth and the problems got solved, so that we changed to a 3 year subscription. Some days ago, whm was no longer accessible (timeout) and the hosted websites were offline, too. The problems with ResellerClub are very annoing:
1) On the ResellerClub Helpdesk, we were not able to send the Ticket form.

Tried 5 times in 3 browsers. This issue got fixed 2 days later, but there is no other useful (=electonic) way to report problems.
2) The ResellerClub Support ‘fixed’ the outage and said, that they are monitoring the server now.
3) The Server still has outages all the time:

13.09.2018 14:35: It was down for 17 minutes and 59 seconds
13.09.2018 15:34: It was down for 1 minutes and 1 seconds
13.09.2018 16:54: It was down for 7 minutes and 52 seconds
13.09.2018 17:06: It was down for 0 minutes and 52 seconds
13.09.2018 17:24: It was down for 1 minutes and 1 seconds
13.09.2018 18:06: It was down for 19 minutes and 11 seconds

4) The ResellerClub Monitoring does not work: they did not started to fix it.
5) We were able to create a Critical Ticket. 24h later, the Ticket was still unassigned. No Answer, no support.

It looks like it’s a bad idea to pay ResellerClub for 3 years. They just don’t answer or some days later.

Visit Host →

Olga  Kahn avatar
Olga Kahn germanbakerypune.in
Jul 19, 2018

I purchased ResellerClub‘s hosting deal when I heard about a sale on one of their products in 2017. It has been a good one year for me now and I am looking to upgrade my hosting plan. Very happy with the support and the service provided by ResellerClub hosting. Thanks to ResellerClub!

Visit Host →

Diego Vaz avatar
Diego Vaz cyphertree.com
Jul 12, 2018

I chose ResellerClub for its reseller hosting services and to my delight found that they have a plethora of products that can be sold. In addition to this, their support has been amazing through this year and we are only halfway there (since it is July). I hope the rest of the year is as profitable.

Visit Host →

Leon  Terry avatar
Leon Terry fiticket.com
Jul 02, 2018

If a hosting service were to be defined with an example, ResellerClub should be given as one. One because- I had a great experience with their support team. If you raise a ticket, they guide you with the queries with ease.

Two, they have tons and tons of features to support the hosting that I purchased. (I purchased a reseller hosting package which is why I need to provide different features to my web hosting clients ) and three, since I can renew the account at a smaller price. This is what anyone in the hosting business would want. Thanks ResellerClub!

Visit Host →

Roy Parker  avatar
Roy Parker thebutternutcompany.com
Jun 25, 2018

ResellerClub has worked for me because it has met 3 of my biggest needs.

1) Up time consistency
2) Quickly scalable service
3) Great support provided by team

Since I run a small e-Commerce website, my site cannot function smoothly without the mentioned factors. Also, they have a lot more features as compared to other hosting services. I wish that they had great UI/UX though.

Visit Host →

Amrita Sampath avatar
Amrita Sampath amritasampath.wordpress.com
Mar 22, 2017

What’s worked for me at ResellerClub:
Many products offered and multi-brands on the ResellerClub platform
Reputed brands – HostGator & BlueHost hosting offered
Easy to use control panel
Competitive pricing especially during sales
Support is decent
Social media support is very good

I’ve heard they’re moving towards empowering web designers and developers and are partnering with different providers to offer CRM tools, design tools like icons, images etc.That’s good news for me.

Visit Host →

Lizzy Adams avatar
Lizzy Adams cyphertree.com
Aug 28, 2018

I am on ResellerClub‘s cloud hosting plan which is seriously a steal and I will now be starting a second website for my organization a well. ResellerClub’s support and speed are two things I would like to underline since my website functions very smoothly. In case there is any hiccup, the support team is really helpful and aids you through the whole process.

Visit Host →

Derek Willis avatar
Derek Willis galleriafurn.com
Jul 23, 2018

It’s amazing to have a hosting provider that understands everything you need whole hosting a website. I started my furniture business in Oklahoma in 2001 and a few years later my friends told me about having a website so that people could know more about the stuff I sell. I approached ResellerClub after a colleague suggested me. Since 2008, I have been their customer only because they deliver a high uptime, great support and APIs all at a very cheap cost.

Visit Host →

Josh Brown avatar
Josh Brown the-online.com
Jul 22, 2018

Been with ResellerClub for over 9 years and I’m more than happy reselling domain names, and hosting products. Though the prices seem bit high compared to other reseller platforms, they always bring up new promos and offer discounts on various domain TLDs and web hosting plans. The infrastructure is good, support is also average, and overall reseller platform is good. I’m a web developer and have hosted many of my clients sites with ResellerClub.

Visit Host →

Gilgy Parson avatar
Gilgy Parson chiji8976
Jun 26, 2018

I have used ResellerClub‘s WordPress hosting and this is my opinion:

Pros-

Great server uptime. Fantastic speed and multiple options to scale at cheap pricing. Lots of themes for WordPress website

Cons
Need to sort support queries faster
Can have better UI and UX for the platform

But all in all a great service.

Visit Host →

Load More

Web Hosting

ResellerClub offers reseller hosting, true to its name. They have both Linux and Windows hosting available, which extends across the company’s other options. Unless you need a Windows-based server application like Exchange or Microsoft SQL Server, I recommend Linux because almost the whole hosting industry runs on it.

While their name refers to reseller hosting, it’s not their only offering. The company seems to be promoting itself as a web hosting jack of all trades.

Shared Hosting

Like any web hosting provider worth its salt, they have shared hosting plans. Both Linux and Windows plans are available. Again, I recommend you stick with Linux unless you need a Windows server application.

Shared Plan Features

Linux shared hosting plans include:

  • Choice of Ubuntu or CentOS
  • Datacenters in India, the UK, and the US
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • SSH access
  • Development tools
    • PHP
    • Python
    • MySQL
  • Unlimited transfers
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Unlimited storage

The rates for their shared hosting plans are competitive.

“Unlimited” Resources

Their storage space and transfers are unlimited, or as is common in the industry, “unlimited.” That is, they’re unlimited until your website starts to see traffic that causes a drag on the server (and thus other customers).

At that point, they will cut you off or require that you move to a more advanced plan like a VPS.

Nice Perks

Still, they have a few nice perks.

ResellerClub offers SSH access on its shared plan, something that a lot of other hosting companies offer only on VPS or dedicated server plans.

They also offer easy upgrades when you outgrow your shared plan.

They offer the usual stable of tools for supporting web apps like MySQL, Perl, PHP, and Python.

Python

The Python version is 2.6.6. While the Python community has moved on to version 3, version 2 is still supported because there are substantial differences between the two.

Many of the big Python libraries are supporting version 3, so those who need Python 3 would be advised to look elsewhere.

ResellerClub Shared Hosting
Screenshot via ResellerClub

Other Features

For Linux hosting, ResellerClub uses the cPanel control panel. For Windows hosting, they provide Plesk. But both control panels are excellent.

The basic plan only allows you to host one website, but with the highest tier you can host unlimited domains.

They also offer free website migrations, email hosting, and 1-click installers.

HostGator

Not only does the company offer reseller hosting, but they’re also in the game of reselling themselves with HostGator plans.

Given that there’s a bit of a markup on their prices and that HostGator offers a 45-day money back guarantee over ResellerClub’s 30-day guarantee, if you’re looking for a HostGator plan, you’re better off dealing with them directly.

While there’s nothing that makes ResellerClub stand out, they have some solid hosting features for a very reasonable price.

VPS Hosting

If you need a VPS plan, they offer them.

All of their VPS plans are Linux-based. You do get a choice of two distributions:

  1. Ubuntu
  2. CentOS

Pricing

Again, the prices for VPS plans are quite reasonable.

As with other providers, the price you pay depends on how beefy a virtual server you want. The number of CPU cores, RAM, and storage space all go up with each tier of service.

Standard Features

The maximum is four CPU cores, eight gigabytes of RAM, 240 gigabytes of storage and three terabytes of bandwidth.

As with the shared plans, you get cPanel for free. You also get full root access, though this is a standard feature.

VPS Management

ResellerClub’s VPS plans are semi-managed. The hardware upgrades and patches are taken care of, but you’re on the hook for everything else.

With most other comparable plans offering managed hosting, that’s one strike against them unless you really like system administration.

DDoS Protection

Because a business that is big enough to need a VPS is likely to be big enough to attract DDoS attacks, the company offers DDoS protection.

Other security features include an SSL manager and ClamAV antivirus.

Bluehost

ResellerClub also offers hosting by Bluehost, which is a good VPS provider in its own right.

It’s actually slightly cheaper to go with Bluehost via ResellerClub than to buy directly from Bluehost. ResellerClub has also introduced a fourth tier to Bluehost’s VPS offerings, which can tip the scales in ResellerClub’s favor.

WordPress Hosting

WordPress has come very far from its humble origins as a blog engine, becoming a full content management system (CMS). Due to its popularity, web hosting providers are catering to people who want to run WordPress-based sites.

Basic Features

The company touts its automatic updates to the latest versions of WordPress.

ResellerClub also caches its WordPress pages to load quickly.

Plan Tiers

There are several tiers, as with the company’s other offerings.

  • Number of cores
  • RAM
  • storage space
  • transfers

If you’re running a light-traffic blog, you can get by with a lower tier.

Command-Line Interface

WP-CLI is also supported. As the name suggests, it’s a command-line interface for WordPress.

They also offer SSH access for WordPress plans. This is an interesting approach, as most providers only let WordPress users maintain their blogs from the web-based control panel.

No Money-Back Guarantee

If you go with a WordPress plan, you should be aware that ResellerClub’s money-back guarantee does not apply.

You have to use a one-click install version of WordPress on a cloud server if you want this guarantee.

No SSL Certificates

The company doesn’t provide an SSL certificate with its WordPress plans. You have to buy the certificate separately from the plan.

With new versions of Chrome marking plain HTTP (as opposed to HTTPS) as insecure, an SSL certificate is a must these days.

No SSL Transfer

If you thought you could just use an existing certificate, you’re sadly mistaken. You have to generate a certificate from ResellerClub’s WordPress hosting panel.

Needing to buy another SSL certificate will add another expense to your hosting bill. You might want to think twice about a WordPress plan if this is important to you.

Dedicated Servers

If you really, really want a dedicated server, you can get one from ResellerClub.

Think Twice: VPS May Be a Better Option

These days, VPS hosting offers the advantages of a dedicated server without the whole, you know, dedicated server.

A hardware server has to be wired up, have the OS and software installed, and if you bought more server than you needed, you’re stuck with it until the contract is up.

Competitive Rates

Still, the rates are competitive, though more expensive than VPS.

The rates go up depending on how powerful a server you get.

Root Access

As with VPS, you get full root access. But you may not need it all that much.

But unlike with VPS plans, ResellerClub only offers fully-managed dedicated servers.

ResellerClub will take care of the following, while you are expected to handle the rest:

  • Hardware
  • Network
  • cPanel installation and management
  • Server hardening

Operating System

You have a choice of Linux or CentOS, just as you do on their VPS plans.

Set It and Forget It

If you really want a server where you can just “set it and forget it” like an infomercial product and you can afford a dedicated server, you might want to consider this option.

Other Stuff

As with the company’s other offerings, you get cPanel on dedicated servers, which should take some of the pain out of management. They promise virtual network computing (VNC) access soon.

And yes, they have a 30-day money-back guarantee. (I’m starting to sense a theme.)

ResellerClub Other Features

Other Features

They also offer features that are ancillary to web hosting, which can be useful.

G Suite

ResellerClub offers access to G Suite, Google’s suite of web apps, like Gmail and Google Docs.

Sure, you can just get those for free, but if you’re a business, you need to keep a professional front with your own email address.

Why Not Buy From Google?

ResellerClub says that if you’re buying their other services, you can access G Suite from their control panel.

This might be attractive if you’re operating a virtual company. You can host your website and let your employees connect from the same place.

They also offer standalone e-mail service.

Site Builder

Need to build a website? They have their own site builder as well as Weebly.

There are also plug-ins available for your site.

ResellerClub Service and Support

Service and Support

No matter how much uptime a web hosting provider advertises, some things will go wrong. Maybe a server has a disk crash. Maybe you fat-fingered your HTML. Whatever the cause, you need to get your site back up, pronto!

The biggest measure of a web hosting company should be how well it helps you solve your problems.

Before you sign on the dotted line, you should see how easy it is to get in touch with them in the first place.

ResellerClub Knowledgebase
Screenshot via ResellerClub

Support Options

ResellerClub has a standard ticket filing system on their website. They also have phone numbers in India, the UK, and the US The lines are all 24/7.

A live chat option would be even better. Some people just aren’t fans of using the phone. Live chat is so common among web hosting companies that it’s become almost expected.

Knowledgebase

They do have a knowledgebase of common problems. The knowledgebase is searchable, but you can also drill down through menus based on topics. The design seems to be bare-bones.

They also have marketing materials for resellers available.

ResellerClub Billing

Billing

In the US, ResellerClub accepts:

  • Credit cards
  • Wire transfers
  • PayPal
  • WebMoney

The payment methods vary by country, however. You should check with ResellerClub for details.

ResellerClub Comparable Hosts

Comparable Hosts

How does ResellerClub compare to other hosting providers? It might be best to compare ResellerClub to the companies whose services it resells in the areas that web hosting providers are most interested in: shared hosting plans and VPS.

HostGator

As mentioned before, ResellerClub offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, while HostGator’s guarantee lasts for 45 days.

As with ResellerClub, HostGator offers unmetered bandwidth and transfers, though in practice this means “as long as you don’t use too many resources.”

ResellerClub has cPanel. HostGator has cPanel.

HostGator offers free backup and restore, while ResellerClub only offers backup as a separate service with CodeGuard (this extends across the company’s entire range).

Bluehost

Bluehost also has comparable VPS offerings, but ResllerClub’s own servers are more powerful than Bluehost’s plans. If your application has more requirements for raw power, this might be a reason to go with them.

Bluehost’s VPS plans are fully managed, so you don’t have to manage everything, in contrast to ResellerClub’s semi-managed servers.

SiteGround

SiteGround also offers both shared and VPS hosting. The company’s most basic shared hosting plan is even cheaper than ResellerClub’s offerings.

As mentioned earlier, support is something you should consider beyond the price of the service. HostGator, Bluehost, and SiteGround all have live chat support, while ResellerClub doesn’t.

Even if you buy a plan from a company ResellerClub partners with, your first line is still ResellerClub’s support.

ResellerClub Pros and Cons

Pros and Cons

Like all web hosts, ResellerClub has advantages and disadvantages. Whether it is right for you will depend upon your needs.

Pros

  • Money-back guarantee with most products
  • Professional, live support with all tiers of service
  • All plans are built for reselling

Cons

  • Limited feature set
  • Some features require sign up to see
  • Secure sockets layer (SSL) certificates cost extra

ResellerClub Summary

Summary

ResellerClub, backed by Endurance International, has some inexpensive and solid offerings. If you can get by without some of the creature comforts like fully-managed VPS servers or live support chat, you might want to consider them.

Some of the features that other providers throw in for free, like backups, negate some of ResellerClub’s cheap prices. Their business model is similar to a low-fare airline: cheap prices for bare-bones service.

Most Popular ResellerClub Hosting Plans

R1 R2 R3
Disk Space 800GB 1000GB 2000GB
Bandwidth 40GB 50GB 100GB
Price $12.29 / mo $13.59 / mo $18.19 / mo
Visit ResellerClub Visit ResellerClub Visit ResellerClub

ResellerClub Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where are their datacenters?

    While ResellerClub offers datacenters in both their native India, the UK, and in the US, and Hong Kong. The US servers are located in a Data Foundry datacenter in Austin, Texas, but the company doesn’t specify exactly where their other datacenters are located.

  • Is their version of cPanel the stock version or a custom version?

    As far as we can tell, ResellerClub’s cPanel is the stock version.

  • What security features do they offer?

    On their shared plans, they offer hotlink protection, “leech protection,” and ClamAV antivirus.

Most Popular ResellerClub Alternatives

Resellers Panel logo

Starts at:

$2.50

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

David Delony

About David Delony

David Delony is a technology enthusiast based in the Pacific Northwest. He has experience with various web technologies going back to his teen years. David has experience covering technology topics ranging from networking to video games to operating systems.

Connect with David