Add Your Review for Site5

Site5 In 2018: What Do Site5 Client Reviews Say?

88 Reviews
Last Updated May 2, 2018Add your review

Get 23% off today

Site5 Features

  • 24/7 technical support
  • Unlimited traffic, disk space
  • 99.9% uptime guarantee
  • WordPress integration
  • Free daily backups
  • 45-day money-back guarantee

Site5: Why Buy Hosting From Them?

  • Over 150,000 websites being hosted worldwide.
  • WhoIsHostingThis users rate Site5 as 3.0 out of 5 – Good.
Pros:
  • Unlimited disk space and transfer
  • 60-day money back guarantee
  • Choice of server location
Cons:
  • 24/7 support only via live chat
  • Phone support available during business hours

Site5 Introduction

Site5 was founded in 2002, and it says that quality of service is its highest priority. The company's mailing address is in Austin, Texas, and it prides itself on having an in-house support department. Hosting features are geared towards customers that need a degree of flexibility, but they are marketed without excessive technical jargon. This makes Site5 a good host for web designers and developers, since they often need a solid feature set without the burden of ongoing server administration.

On many plans, monthly billing is available, in addition to the standard annual and bi-annual contracts. Free migration services are also included on every plan currently advertised.

Key Service Features

Site5 has three service categories: shared, reseller, and VPS. The features you see will vary depending on the class of hosting you're looking at.

Shared hosting with Site5 does not include cPanel, which is probably the most notable difference from reseller and VPS. Instead, customers get access to its Backstage control panel, which is proprietary. Across all plans, disk space and bandwidth are unmetered, and Site5 is rare, in that it explains its unmetered resource policy very clearly.

Reseller hosting plans are a better choice if you want cPanel. You can divide your space as you wish, and resell as many plans as you like. The trade-off is the capped space and bandwidth, although the cap would likely not be restrictive for the majority of freelance or self-employed web designers or developers.

VPS hosting comes in one flavor: fully-managed only. It includes a set number of cores, a set RAM allocation, and fixed bandwidth and space allocations too. cPanel and WHM are provided, but billed as an extra; if you don't want to pay, you can opt for the SiteAdmin control panel instead.

Servers and Infrastructure

Site5 is keen to point out that it doesn't oversell its servers. On VPS plans, customers can choose between different versions of CentOS, although some are less feature-rich than others.

Site5 claims to use datacenters in various global locations. However, during the sign-up process, we were only able to select the central US datacenter location. It's not clear why Site5 didn't offer other datacenter locations, because we know this option has been available in the past, with more than 19 different locations on offer.

Support

Site5 has its own in-house support department, which appears to be an English-speaking team. It's available 24/7. The team takes care of questions about hosting, and also carries out site migrations for new customers free of charge.

Some hosts limit free migration to just one cPanel account, but it's notable that Site5 goes much further; it will migrate up to 25 cPanel accounts when you first become a customer. It will also migrate non-cPanel accounts, up to a maximum of 10. Again, this is unusually generous. The non-cPanel migration includes databases and files only, so your email addresses and FTP accounts would need to be recreated. For fully managed VPS, this is a soft limit; the company says it's open to migrating more accounts, if you need them to. Migrations are only carried out Monday to Friday, but service is offered 24/7 during that time.

The company says that its customer support agents fully fix issues themselves, rather than asking customers to implement a change and then test it to see if it works.

Site5 says that it offers a guaranteed response time for its technical support engineers. We couldn't locate any more details about this on its website, so it would be wise to check with its sales team if you want more information.

Guarantees and SLAs

Site5 operates two satisfaction guarantees. Depending on the type of web hosting you choose, you'll get either 15 or 45 days to try its service. The 45-day money-back guarantee applies to shared and reseller hosting, while the 15-day money-back guarantee is for its VPS hosting. Domain names and services are excluded from the guarantee.

As a Site5 customer, you'll also be guaranteed 99.9% service uptime, backed by service credits. As the amount of downtime increases, the amount of credit also increases, up to a maximum monthly credit of 100%. Again, different plans have different credit structures. But you'll find all of the information on the Site5 guarantee page. If you believe that unplanned downtime has exceeded 0.1%, you'll need to raise a manual claim with the billing department.

Summary

Site5 markets its hosting packages on flexibility, ease of use, and quality of support, and it has clearly thought about what web designers and freelance developers want from hosting. Getting your data over from your old host should be simple thanks to the ample free migrations, and running a multi-site VPS is made far easier with the included management service. Potential drawbacks include a lack of dedicated server plans, and the fact that server locations outside the US aren't always available.

Last updated: 2018-05-07

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

With consistent uptime, amazing support, and an excellent interface, I am proud to be a Site5 user. If there have been any issues, I was able to pop onto live chat and instantly connect with a support specialist that helped me out. I would say that Site5 has the best shared hosting around, compared to the many others I have used.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 is awesome because of their responsiveness to questions, issues, requests. I recently bought an SSL Certificate from them and chose to have them install it and they contacted me within about 15 minutes to get it all set up and confirm the settings. About a year ago I had an issue with an email address rejecting emails and it was resolved within 10 minutes.

Site5 is great at having real people address your problems/needs as quickly as possible. Their backend/admin page is simply awesome. Very easy to use, very straightforward and it never feels like they're constantly trying to upsell you to something else.

They just present the settings and you go from there. I've been with Site5 since early 2009 and have no interest in going back to my other hosts that I've tried in the past. They've been great for the last 4 years and it just seems that they are getting better and better.

 

88 Reviews of Site5 By Our Users

Screenshot of http://saveoursleep.org
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sadly, I have decided to terminate a 10+ year relationship with Site5. When I started with them, they were growing and very customer-centric. Today, they have become a sub-par provider with automatons in customer support and billing.

After trying to reach out to them twice for a very, very simple inquiry (they only provide support via email and chat) and having two separate support chat sessions ranking in the top 5 worst chat sessions of my life. The time lapse between questions and answers ranged from 1 to 10 minutes. After typing several '?' they would answer, "Sorry for the delay" with no substantive answer and then another long time lapse.

This became so infuriating that I told them I wanted to cancel and I wanted a refund on the remaining 17 months of my contract. The automatons in billing ignored all the detail in my correspondence and replied with the same answer, not addressing the issues I was raising. So, I write this to warn others, if you are looking for a place that will provide you decent support, don't buy from Site5.

I would also suggest that any provider that does not provide phone support is probably a dangerous bet. I can tell you that Site5 is garbage.

 
Screenshot of http://socialkauai.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Around the middle of 2016 their support started getting worse and worse until now it's non-existent. I don't know if they got bought or what. Lately their up time has gone down, most of my sites hosted with them (over 30) have been hacked in the last few weeks, and they are providing zero support.

They brag about their restore from backup service, but I have a website I've requested restored over 24 hours ago and they haven't even acknowledged the ticket. You can tell a company is in trouble when their Twitter replies all start with, "we apologize..." https://twitter.com/ class="brn-t">site5/with_replies. After this latest experience with zero support, I'm in the process of moving my sites to InMotion.

 
Screenshot of http://we-designs.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Everything has been transferred to another hosting server, and to SiteGround, and since has been working fine. Least to say, site5 is a horrible hosting site. It took siteground less than 24 hours to fix what site5 tried to fix within 6 days.

I had been using IXWebhosting for over 15 years, and everything was working fine, until IX had to close down. I was informed that IX would transfer all our sites to site5, but this is not by choice. Five of our sites took over 5 days to remedy to find out from both helpdesk ticket agents, and live chat individuals, that they were not able to fix the problem, until at day 6, I decided, enough is enough, I will change all my business to siteground.

The live chat were not able to fix the nameservers, and their client login, would not allow you to change your own nameservers, until you contacted them to unlock your accounts. We were out of business (literally) for 6 days until someone within their 'senior technicians' were able to fix the problem, which was because after the migration, the. Htaccess was incorrectly pointed.

It should not take any company over 72 hours to fix this problem, least to mention over 6 days. We are entirely not happy with site5, and have since changed our business to SiteGround, and perhaps you should also consider this when looking for a hosting client.

 
Screenshot of http://muttsmaison.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Avoid if you can Leave if you CAN

Used Site5 for just under 10 years, and for 8 years they were excellent. Then they fell off a cliff. Stuck with them out of apathy until a few months ago they accidentally terminated my account, deleting all my websites and emails.

Their customer service used to be great, but now the only option is a patchy ticket system they rarely respond to. After days and weeks of going round in circles I was eventually given access to an old backup of my sites, and a kind local hosting company helped me get old versions of the most important ones back up and running. It was during this I found that many companies will help you migrate sites away from cowboys like SIte5 have become - I definitely recommend anyone with them do this Asap. Avoid avoid avoid

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was a loyal Site5 customers since 2011, paying around $820 a year for a VPS server. After many years of amazing service and support, after being purchased by EIG, everything changed dramatically. Support tickets would be 1 month without being answered.

A lot of downtime... they removed their phone support, so the only way to communicate was submitting a ticket. Even their online chat option was useless, as anything you'd reach out to them for, they'd say "please submit a ticket"

I decided to pull out and move my VPS server with more than a dozen websites to a new host.

I usually paid $820 per year for my site5 VPS server ... and still had around 5-6 months left until my renewal, so I requested a pro-rated refund. It is important to note that The customer service agent offered this pro-rated refund after originally offering a pro-rated account credit, which I said I had no use for.

They said they would escalate it to management and offer me a pro-rated refund. That was 3 months ago. Since then I've sent 5 follow up emails to the ticket, which have been completely ignored.

I reached out by Chat, and they told me to submit a ticket. Truly pathetic. The service is pitiful, The Support is pathetic. Stay far far away.

 
Screenshot of https://manna-design.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We have 200 websites across 5 sever companies. We switched to Site5 after another one of our server companies were bought out and the quality of service started dropping. Now, we're in the same position with Site5.

We have 40 sites with them across 4 servers: 2 VPS and 2 Shared. We've been running into uptime issues with one of our VPS servers. It has two marginally active sites.

No ecommerce, nothing fancy. The server has been up and down for three weeks. We keep getting ticket responses saying "looks like its up...

check it out and let us know." only to have an angry client call the next day. When we called them on this, we go no helpful support. On top of this, our tickets complaining about the terrible service were deleted from the ticket thread. By the time we go a tech to address some of the issues, we had already migrated the site.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I requested a restore from backup. It took 10 days and 4 chat sessions for them to complete the restore. Unfortunately, they only keep backups for 7 days.

The restore was with the bad code. There is no way to contact support except through Chat. You never get the same person. Not acceptable!

 
Screenshot of http://www.updigital.agency
4.5 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm Happy with site5 I have about 20 websites hosted with them, for about 4 years. The only negative is that after they got bought by another company the support changed drastically at first it was inexistent, but now is slowly getting better, so I'm been patient because they have given my company such a great overall service, so I feel I should give them some time to adjust their support until it becomes what it used to be before.

 
Screenshot of http://martinoandluth.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

0 stars. This was the worst company I've ever had the displeasure of working with. I've been in Web Design for 17+ years and I have never been treated so poorly as a customer.

Our site was hit with malware. Immediately the site was suspended (understandable). Because the site was hit with a recursive script that infected all php files (which there are hundreds) I asked that the site be restored from a backup taken prior to the infection, which I verified there was one with the chat tech.

They flat out refused until I went through and cleaned all the files first - makes NO sense since all those files would be overwritten with a restore. I jumped through the hoops anyways and got the site un-infected and requested the restore to be on the safe side that day. From there is was 6 frustrating days of being ignored through tickets and live chat all the while our entire company site remained suspended.

No one could explain why they refused to un-suspend the site. My site was down for 8 days total before I finally transferred it to a different host. I truly believe they refused to un-suspend because I said their policy of having to have the client manually clean the files before allowing a restore from an old backup was ridiculous.

Avoid them like the plague. This was the final straw of years of un-helpful attitude filled support responses. I had been with the company for 8+ years.

They were good when they started, but the last 3 years they went downhill, and the last year they have been terrible. They finally made it worth the effort to move our entire company site, ftp, and whole online system elsewhere just to avoid ever having to deal with them again.

 
Screenshot of http://www.puutaheinaa.net
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Support takes weeks to respond and is unable to resolve even simplest issues. Incredible how low this host went after getting acquired by EIG. SSL issues?

Not getting resolved. Billing issues? No worries, we'll send you a larger bill.

Site down? "Oh you can't trust services like Jetpack monitor or uptime robot, our uptime is 99.9999%". I feel sorry for the original support staff, but I had to switch providers, and I recommend everyone else does as well.

 
Screenshot of http://www.parametrico.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

After more than 10 years of relationship with Site5, since it was acquired more than a year ago by IDG this has become a nightmare. Some examples:

- Change the IP of the server without prior notice. I had to contact support to get the new IP.
- Migration notice with barely a few hours of margin.

This migration took more than a week, during which we did not have access to any of the services.
- A chat support team with no information to answer questions about the migration. They could only say: we are very sorry and we regret the inconvenience.
- Open tickets that took several days to be answered.
- Network states not updated in which it was implied that everything was ok, but when actually the service was down.
- Bad policy of cancellation and refund of money.
- Sending passwords via chat: -S

 
Screenshot of http://www.morowatglobal.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Horrible!!! I have had 2 support tickets open for over 2 months with no replies. Anytime I ask for service, they tell me they cannot help me but have passed the information of to their senior admins who will get back to me. Today, all of my support tickets have been deleted by site 5, and no one can tell me why or how to resolve my issue still!! 2 months of no website and no replies, do not use their service unless you like to pay for nothing!!!

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Absolutely the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. A 301 redirect is an easy thing. Their dashboard is so confusing I had to contact support for help.

He said he would do it, the support guy had NO idea what a 301 redirect was. Ten minutes of waiting and he crashed the website completely. He proceeded to tell me that the website is fine and everything works.

I tried 2 computers and 3 browsers, all of them gave me a 404. The Worst service in the business. Do not get caught up.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Since Site5 was Acquired by Endurance International Group the service went down drastically. My hosting have been down for over 27 hours and I still don't get a clear answer. I spent several hours trying to get an answer and all we got is just information that doesn't help. We are seriously migrating everything to the new hosting account.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 used to be premium! They had great service and an easily navigable back end. Now since they were bought out, there is no longer a call in support line and everything has to go thru support tickets or chat.

It takes engineers roughly a week to wrongly answer a support ticket, and chat takes about an hour to get on a slow day. I have switched to in motion and I am happy with their service.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

sucks. I have an emergency ticket open for 14 days and still no answer. Tried live chat and answer was we'll get back to you..Yeah right...still waiting and waiting...

It used to be a good hosting before 2015. Then a sale was happen and the new company that took over changed for the worst

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fact: our clients site went down because site 5 claimed it was abuse of TOS and that the server had consumed its resource allocation. They simply shut it down. This TOS thing was never communicated and the entire digital portal of our client came to a screeching halt.

The server was shut down on Aug 26th and today Aug 30th it still has not come back up. We raised a couple of tickets but no one responded. We are now migrating our site away from site 5. Mind you we pay them more than others charge for similar service so I thought their service would be worth the extra bucks too.

 
Screenshot of http://www.allyresourcegroup.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 support used to be wonderful, but it is horrible now. You will spend 45-50 minutes on hold waiting to get a real live person on the phone. You'll wait at least 15-20 minutes to get someone to respond to their chat feature.

Their servers on the reseller account that I'm on go down on almost a weekly basis over the past month. And, then you are completely unable to get in touch with anyone at all who can tell you what is going on. Many times, they will deny there is even an outage.

I am getting ready to move all of my sites off their service. I would not recommend them at all.

 
3 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site 5 was an amazing company. Until recently. Something has changed in the recent months and now the customer service and resolution time has gone downhill.

In January all of my sites suddenly disappeared, all the files appeared to have reverted to versions from 12 months ago. Site5 applied a backup, but never explained to me what happened. I'm still waiting for an update on my ticket a month later.

This week I have had sites down and have been waiting almost a week for the issue around the DNS to be resolved for Site5 - in the meanwhile I have no website, and no email. And all I get told is that I have to wait as there is a queue of tickets, and mine will be dealt with when they can. I'll be taking my business elsewhere. I cannot trust Site5 any longer.

 
Screenshot of http://redcarpetrefs.com
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

We are pretty satisfied with the speed of the actual site. The migration was pretty seamless as well. Where Site5 falls short is Wordpress.

They have a limit to how many PHP processes can be run on any given shared hosting account at one time, and that limit is 3!!! It's normal that a hosting provider puts limits on it, but this low limit that Site5 has makes it impossible to have any plugins installed at all. Administrating Wordpress with this limit is impossible: we can only have one individual logged in at a time and it Still runs slowly to the point that it will often crash. Site5 is fast, but for Wordpress users: Stay away!

 
Screenshot of http://brookechao.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was super happy with Site5.com for years, then, abruptly about a year ago, I started noticing more downtimes, and more and more instances where support tickets would be completely ignored for days, if not weeks. No response at ALL. If you initiate a chat, they just give you boilerplate answers to reassure you, but can't do anything to really follow up or update you on what's going on.

A typical chat session goes:
Things should be up in 24 hours. Oh, it's been 24 hours? Then it should be between 24-48 hours.

Oh, it's been 48 hours, already? Oh, there's an issue, but it should be resolved in 30 minutes. It's been over an hour since then?

Then it could be 30 minutes to several hours. Oh, it's been several hours? Well, it's escalated, and we don't know when it will resolved, but they're working on it.

You want to know what they're doing, or when it will be resolved? I can't help you with that in a chat session. Seriously.

If it wouldn't be a huge headache to move my 10+ sites to another hosting provider, I'd do it in a Heartbeat. This is the worst hosting experience I've run into, so far, and it doesn't look to get better.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I had problems with site5 and when i quizzed their support i found out that they had made changes to my setup which effected the running of my site. I asked for money back for the issues they caused. I was told to vacate their hosting within 10 days before they would delete the files.

I have the emails to prove it should any one doubt it. Think twice before using these. I had two sites and both were effected in the same way

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I'm satisfied with the uptime and speed but the problem with them is they have 2 maintenance in a single month. During maintenance all account on the server will be down. Support is very quick that's a good thing.

 
Screenshot of http://visokarazina.hr
2.5 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My company is using site5 for 2 years now and in the last couple of months they are getting worse and worse. For example last 5 days my websites (I have multi-admin account) hosted on site5 were all unavailable for longer periods of times (and still are as I write this). Contacting their support there always seems to be a generic answer like "there was a load spike and our engineers are fixing it", "I verified and there is an issue with the server.

Our health engineers are already looking into it. Check our live post for more information about the outage". The worst part is I can't get a simple answer out of them because theres always someone else who's taking my ticket and replying without even checking previous replies in the ticket so I have to explain everything in every reply I send.

I'm having some important websites hosted on there and in the past 5 days so many outages of websites isn't really good for my clients and seems like I'm moving on from site5. If you're not having anything important on there I still wouldn't recommend site5 because they're not really reliable, their service is often interrupted and customer service is horrible. Even tho they reply within 30 mins or so - don't expect a resolution to your problem. There's always a generic answer which doesn't offer much information.

 
Screenshot of http://www.fantomimage.com
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Before coming to Site5, I went through three hosts in four years, and I left each one of them because of unreliability and horrible customer service. I was at the point of assuming that all hosting companies were terrible and I was just going to have to settle for the least terrible one I could find...and then I found Site5, and my opinion of the business of hosting did a complete 180. I've been with Site5 for eight years, and in that time I haven't had a single issue of any importance (awesome reliability, near-100% up-time), and the few minor issues that have come up have been dealt with quickly, courteously, and with complete professionalism. I've recommended Site5 to a number of people, most recently my boss, who switched from another host to Site5 on my recommendation and has also had nothing but praise since the switch.

 
Screenshot of http://deseirose.com
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They have numerous issues, with outdated php version, to losses of data. They support is by far the worst in all hosting companies, I have open support tickets that no one opened and taken care of for more than a month. Friendly recommendation to all who are choosing hosting company is simply to avoid Site 5.

 
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

As a loyal customer for 10 years and having numerous websites, accounts and databases with them it was a crying shame when the company that recently purchased them let all the support staff go. The support staff at Site5 were the best I've ever come across in the hosting world. Once they all left, I also left Site5.

I could not recommend Site5 anymore. Support tickers take days/weeks to get a reply now, where in the past they were answered in minutes

 
Screenshot of http://www.notivargas.com
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

For some time I am site5.com client, the response of a support beam speed, excellent in its support and very friendly. The characteristics of the host, are really very good no complaints, my wordpress sites are fast and uptime is above 99%, which gives me a relief when the results make money from my web site. Always give much value to the human hand, the human resources of a company, and today has site5.com.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Why I stay with site5:

With out a doubt the customer service I have gotten from the site5 team and their ability to answer questions, sometimes complete out of scope for a hosting provider has been remarkable.

• Reliability, only a few times have I had a customer support request that was critical to my sites performance keep me and my clients from their websites for more then a couple minutes.

• Easy to use control panel for me and the clients who want access to it.

• You can email the CEO directly (or follow him on twitter) and he will email you back. (try that with go-daddy)

 
4.5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I like Site5 because it gives me peace of mind that I'm only a chat away if I run into trouble. The reseller WHM interface is updated and maintained often. I use PHP MySQL technology and their version are always up to speed.

They are Wordpress friendly. The ticketing system is very prompt. I have rarely waited more than 4 hours to hear a return on a submitted support ticket. The knowledge base contains easy to follow written and video tutorials.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I had webhosting from Site5, rhacking.com is bought from there. Is very good, I recommend it! The rapport between costs and uptime, completed by the professionalism of Site5's team make Site5 webhosting the best!

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 is pretty awesome, I got to admit, joining them on a hunch they might be a great host, like I've heard in lots of reviews. But, I was right! They have a live chat staff available 24/7 for any billing or technical problems.

They also resolve simple things relatively quickly. And the dashboard, was built by the team at Site5 and it's getting improved all the time! I remember it was 4am and I couldn't load up my site correctly.

So, I opened the live chat, and from their end, they fixed an error with my code, I was overjoyed! And it took under 5 mins. So, I could go back to sleep. But, being with them for almost a year now, I can tell, I'll be with them for quite a while.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I have been a web hosting customer of several companies along 12 years and never I had found a web hosting company with better and faster support than Site5. They reply the support tickets in an amazing average speed of 5-10 minutes or less! Reliable and fast servers, and a really cheap price, I have the HostPRO+Turbo hosting package that includes a very good multi-admin panel with nice tools (they have their own improved version of cPanel and Fantastico), unlimited websites, unlimited disk space and bandwidth for $13.95/month and another nice thing of this company is they DO accept Paypal.

I knew about Site5 more than one year ago, a partner and friend of mine has some sites with them, but at that time I was skeptical and I had some sites running with ASP (Windows hosting), so I didn’t get convinced to migrate Site5, now I have have about three months using personally Site5 I have no complaints neither downtimes, and now I have migrated all my websites to Site5. My partner has no downtimes in almost two years. Really Site5 is the best linux-based hosting service in my 12 years experience as web hosting customer. Biggest Pro: Support , Uptime , Billing
Biggest Con: No Windows hosting

 
Screenshot of http://www.vancouverislandvr.com
3 stars
Support
2 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I started a hosting account with them about a year ago and have had one site that was under construction for most of the time. The problem came when I used their free migration service. Its was a week going through hell trying to get them to migrate.

They claimed their ip was getting blocked (I have never had any ip blocked with them) but they could access it with another computer. They waited a week until the one ip worked. They supposedly migrated it over.

My account with IXwebhosting came up for renewal, but I didn't worry about it since all the website were supposed to be transferred over. None of the websites are working. It is very frustrating and it seems no one knows what is happening.

 
Screenshot of beyondtimecomics.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I hope this review keeps others from making the mistake I made by using Site5 hosting. Based on my what I know now, wouldn't even use Site5 for parked sites. Site5 is by far the worst web hosting company I have every come across.

I ported an existing e-commerce application from GoDaddy to Site5 to save a few bucks. This has turned out to be one the biggest mistakes I have ever made. Setting up my RoR application on Site5 was much more difficult than it needs to be.

Many generally self-service tasks at Site5 require level 2 support. Also, their servers are extremely slow by any standard. But this isn't even the worst part.

Only one week after going live on Site5, my website MySQL server became corrupted and we lost some critical data. Also, the MySQL server was generating erroneous errors in response to simple queries (such as: select * from users where id = 111) and the MySQL command was being forcefully terminated. Instead of immediately escalading the problem to level 2 support, I was initially told the problem is due to an intrusion on my account.

Hours later, Level 2 support got around to asking me if I wanted the database to be restored from the previous week. They clearly never read the detailed error description and replication examples that I had provide. They provided no explanation as to the underlying issue nor how they plan to fix the core cause.

Even as of now, I have no clue what data I have lost and I am totally exposed to the legal ramifications of this with our customers. Again, this has been a very costly way to learn that Site5's service is the worst and their technical support is downright incompetent. Please be warned and don't make the same mistake I made by using Site5 webhosting. Now I'm in the process of switching my e-commerce site to another hosting company.
.

 
3 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site 5 is enough for me, it doesn't have a great feature but the uptime is great :thumbsup;
because I'm using Site5 for about 2 years already and my site is still up and running! with great supports and awesome features, I rated them all 3 stars because when it's getting longer and longer the support isn't responding at the exact time but still, I love this hosting. <3

 
Screenshot of saintedschool.org
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 is an awesome hosting company! I have had my website hosted there for over 2 years now and I am can say that I am thoroughly impressed with their service. With very little knowledge of web hosting you can have your website up and running in no time.

I have only had downtime with scheduled maintenance and there support is excellent! I would recommend Site5 over anyone else for website hosting.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love Site5 hosting! When I first gave Site5 a try, I was not really thinking about all of the technical issues that my websites could experience, I was more interested in them because a friend of mine who has been online for years recommended them from their personal experience. I have had to contact Site5 tech support about three times to answer some small questions I could have done a Google search on, as well as to order a bigger server.

Their customer support team is phenomenal! All of my questions have been answered and my server upgraded within a matter of minutes. There is no question to small and the customer always comes first, at least that has been my personal experience with Site5.

Now that is service. I can see myself with Site5 for many years too come and I would definitely recommend their hosting packages to my friends.

 
Screenshot of http://naniworld.com
1 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
1 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 used to be one of the best choices in the hosting market. Service was more than great. I could get answer to my questions in less than 10 min.

These days, this company is the complete opposite. Since this company was acquired by its new owners, it has changed significantly for the worst. My support tickets since then had never been answered, and we will soon change to another company.

 
2 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

91.5% Uptime. Speaks for itself. The constant outages are intolerable. Their solution is to move me to a VPS and charge me $55/mo - that's a long way from $6

 
2.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
2 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I use to like the company and support but recently most of our emails:

1.) sent to go into google spam folder,
2.) they use spamcop which currently is blocking a lot of yahoo emails
3.) bounce

support is very unhelpful in this matter.

 
Screenshot of www.chinese-version.com
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
3 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Bad experience

***Maintenance 2 times in a month. Jan 15, 2014 4 hours
Jan 26, 2014 14 hours <<<< In fact 48 hours

**No temporary backup server during maintenance and let all account on that server down

**When i contact the customer server, they told me to be patient and there's nothing they can do

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site5 hosting has been most reliable for me. We can manage everything without any complications, the user interface is very smooth and neat. My sites running on this hosting have hardly got any issue and the billing staff is so friendly that all customers will love to be with them.

With them I have understood two things that I am not going away from them and my sites are going to have big success and I am sure of their great service. I give them 100 out of 100.

 
5 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
5 stars
Uptime
5 stars
Value
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love site5 because they have 24/7 live chat support. This is great when you need immediate server info when Your Site crashes. Everything gets done way before they say they'll finish, I respect that.

They work fast, but don't promise too much. Also they have free themes and a site builder and it's cheap and most importantly the interface is easy to navigate.

 
4 stars
Support
5 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

They have an average uptime of only 99.83% for the server they have us on. Our website is our business and it needs to be up all the time. We get about 2000 to 3000 unique visitors a day so when it is down if affects our customers.

They might be good for a small blog or promotional website but not for what we need. Service is very fast but it needs to be with all the problems. You can see their uptime stats at
http://www. class="brn-t">site5.com/support/uptime/cs2-dallas/

 
4 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
4 stars
Value
4 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Site 5 is a good hosting company but not the best by far. When I first looked towards Site 5 it was truly because of the hype that was given on many blogging sites. Once I went ahead to sign up the process was very easy and I had my site up in minutes.

The associate that helped me was very nice and made it easy to figure out things. I was able to easily figure out how to setup my site and get it running. Something’s that I wish I would have known before hand would have been that the support team did not really do as much as they could to help me out.

There have been plenty of times where I had to figure things out on my own. But no hosting site will be able to do everything you need them to do on your website. In my opinion if you are new to the setting up your own website and get it running then Site 5 is not for you.

You should at least be an average internet user if you want to at least get by with Site 5 hosting. In conclusion, I would recommend Site 5 to my friends as a reputable site to host their websites on.

 
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I was a Site5 customer from 2013 until recently. First, their support was awesome and uptime great, and I the experience was something I also shared to some of my friends. But alas, that was not to last.

After being purchased by EIG, their service quality sinked rapidly: uptime dropped to somewhere around 95%, their whole customer service staff was let go (average ticket first response time has been 3-4 weeks for me for the last 6 months, and the time to solve the ticket 6 weeks), and even the helpful robot assigning ticket numbers was turned off. I do feel sorry for the current customer service staff, they are probably outsourced and have way too little resources to handle all of the angry customers, that aren't too happy about the servers being down. But at the same time I can't recommend Site5 to anyone, anymore.

 
Screenshot of http://www.crushdesign.co
1.5 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
2 stars
Uptime
2 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

In the last month, Site5 has deteriorated to the point that I'm moving 20+ sites off their servers in the next week. Good luck getting any support whatsoever - if you open a ticket, expect to wait for 2 weeks and only receive a reply when tweeting them an angry response. They were recently bought out and went from having probably the best customer service I've experienced, to literally the worst. Do not waste your time and money with Site5.

 
2 stars
Support
1 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I worked to move my PHP website to Site5 from GoDaddy for over 6 months. The (new?) structure of their "support" is just terrible. Each time you submit a ticket for help or to ask a question or need an issue resolved, a new person takes the ticket and responds in a different way apparently having spent no time reviewing your account.

Perhaps they keep no history or notes? I don't know, but the process is so frustrating and laborious. After 2 days or so they automatically close the ticket so each time you have to start over - they just assume things are resolved even though they should easily be able to tell on their end that no migration has taken place so clearly the issue isn't resolved.

Multiple times I responded to their emails and they closed the ticket saying I never responded (I have proof I did and they ignored it). After 8 months of attempting to transition my website over to Site5 I gave up and went elsewhere which has been great. I requested a refund and Site5 claims they provided resource and so prorated my refund, when in fact there was never a successful migration to their platform.

They are all promises and very little substance in my experience. I had to go through the Better Business Bureau to even have them take notice - they are so automated and you can never talk to anyone - they won't put you with one support person throughout the process even when requested. There was one guy - one time - that actually seemed to have a clue.

The other guys acted like they were reading from a script and wanted to close the tickets as soon as possible, not actually resolve anything. I would stay as far away from Site5 as possible if you have any need for support or customer service. I feel like they stole the fee from me and did as little as possible to support migration to their platform.

 
2.5 stars
Support
4 stars
Features
4 stars
Uptime
1 stars
Value
1 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I've had a reseller account with Site5 for just over 2 years now, and initially I was impressed... with everything. After about a year, hosting a dozen or so simple, low-traffic sites through my account, things got pretty awful.

My sites would (and still do) take entirely too long to load, if they load at all. The overall performance and uptime are both horrendous. Even on a "good day" my sites are slower than dirt.

Sure, they have fast and friendly support, but what good is that when every single day your website visitors are subjected to insufferable performance. I would not recommend Site5 hosting to my worst enemies... they are unequivocally terrible.

 

Most Popular Site5 Hosting Plans

hostBasic Web Hosting hostPro Web Hosting hostPro+Turbo Web Hosting
Disk Space Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Price $4.95/mo $8.95/mo $11.95/mo
View Plan View Plan View Plan

All Site5 Hosting Plans

Hosting Plan Features Disk Space Bandwidth Price
hostBasic Web Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
Unlimited Unlimited $4.95/month
Usual price:
hostPro Web Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • Python
  • cPanel
Unlimited Unlimited $8.95/month
Usual price:
hostPro+Turbo Web Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
Unlimited Unlimited $11.95/month
Usual price:
resellerStarter Plan Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
50GB 500GB $23.95/month
Usual price:
resellerStandard Plan Reseller
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
80GB 700GB $33.95/month
Usual price:
Plus Cloud Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • Dedicated IP
10GB 100GB $20.00/month
Usual price:
Advanced Cloud Hosting Shared
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
20GB 200GB $27.00/month
Usual price:
VPS2 Managed VPS Plan VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • LAMP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • VPS
  • cPanel
50GB 800GB $55.00/month
Usual price:
VPS3 Managed VPS Plan VPS
  • WordPress
  • PHP
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Shell Access
  • WHM
  • VPS
75MB 1TB $81.00/month
Usual price:

Site5 Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is the company located?

    Site5's mailing address is in Houston, TX in the United States.

  • Does Site5 specialize in Linux or Windows hosting?

    No. Site5 only offers Linux hosting.

  • Does Site5 offer VPS hosting?

    Yes. Managed VPS hosting is available.

  • What satisfaction guarantee is offered?

    Shared and reseller plans come with a 45-day money-back guarantee. VPS packages come with a 15-day money-back guarantee. Beyond this 45-day or 15-days period, no refunds are available if you cancel.

  • Are renewal prices more than the intro price?

    In some cases, yes. Site5 offers discounts if you pay in advance. You can lock in your initial discount by paying ahead by up to two years.

  • What support options are provided?

    Site5 offers email, live chat and telephone support. Live chat is available 24/7, while telephone support is available Monday through Friday, 10AM-6PM EST (UTC -0500).

  • What languages are technical support available in?

    Support is available in English only.

  • What is the minimum contract term?

    Customers can pay one month at time, or they can pay in advance, up to two years. Remember that Site5 does not offer refunds beyond the initial 45-day money-back period, so if you cancel part-way through your billing cycle, you will not get a pro-rated refund.

  • What space and data transfer limitations are there?

    Site5 offers unlimited disk space and unlimited bandwidth on web hosting plans. Reseller and VPS plans are limited by the disk size and bandwidth of the specific plan.

  • Does Site5 offer reseller packages?

    Yes. There are several reseller plans, so you can divide and resell web hosting space to customers or clients.

  • How do I migrate my existing website?

    Site5 offers free transfer of your entire website. The free migration service is limited to 25 cPanel accounts, or 10 non-cPanel accounts. Non-cPanel accounts can only be migrated on a limited basis.

  • What control panels are offered?

    Hosting plans come with Backstage, Site5's custom cPanel theme. Reseller plans come with cPanel/ WHM. VPS plans are available with Backstage, but you can choose to use cPanel/ WHM for an extra fee.

  • What payment options are supported?

    In addition to major credit cards, customers can also pay via PayPal.

  • What is Site5's backup policy?

    Server backups are performed on a nightly basis and retained for 7 days. There are also options available to perform your own backups.

  • Is Site5 a good choice for multiple sites?

    Yes. It offers a number of options for multiple sites. Some of its web hosting plans offer unlimited domain support. 

  • What development languages does Site5 support?

    Its Linux hosting plans support Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby, and Ruby on Rails.

  • Does Site5 have one-click installers?

    Yes. One-click installers for tools like WordPress can be installed via the Site5 SiteAdmin control panel, or through the Softaculous feature in cPanel.

  • Does Site5 offer Magento support?

    Yes. Magento is fully supported by Site5, even on shared hosting plans.

  • Does Site5 offer CDN services?

    Yes. CloudFlare support is included.

  • Does it have discounted plans for schools and non-profits?

    Site5 does not offer free hosting for non-profits.

Who Are The Most Popular Site5 Alternatives?

Overall 3 stars
Support
3 stars
Features
3 stars
Uptime
3 stars
Value
3 stars
Visit Site5

Price Comparison

Site5$4.95
SiteGround$3.95
BlueHost$2.75
InMotion Hosting$2.95
A2 Hosting$3.92
HostPapa$3.95

Review Site5 & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Site5 customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more...

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Site5.
Please be specific: we're only interested in hearing that Site5 rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

(We hate spam - see our privacy policy)