SiteBuilder.com Sells Simplicity: We Asked 16 Real Users If The Claims Stack Up

SiteBuilder Introduction

SiteBuilder, as the name implies, is not so much a web hosting company as a website design company that provides hosting services. They are based in Hampshire, England.

Services and Specializations

SiteBuilder offers several levels of hosting, but they can be broken down into two distinct types.

The first is a free service, which allows user to create a website and host it on a subdomain of the site my-free.website. The drag and drop website builder is extremely simple to use and includes thousands of customizable templates. Each template contains specific instructions regarding how to edit texts and backgrounds and what sort of text is typically found on each page. Blog capabilities, an image library, and social media integration are also included.

Because this is a free plan, your site will contain ads, and every time you publish changes you will be asked if you want to set up your own domain.

If you decide you want to use your own domain, that’s when you step into the second type of hosting program – the paid variety. SiteBuilder offers 4 levels of paid service, depending on the features that you need for your website. All of their plans include a free domain registration, free add credits, and are ad free. 

Because they bill themselves as a website service, rather than as a webhost, they also say they include free hosting; but that’s simply a matter of semantics. Their higher tier plans include features such as SEO and marketing assistance, mobile-compatible sites, email assistance, priority support, and eCommerce capabilities.

There are a number of add-ons available within your control panel as well, including domain privacy, additional domains/sites, CDN service, personal email, and ad credits. If you’re on the free plan, clicking on any of these options simply brings you to the upgrade menu to choose one of their paid plans.

SiteBuilder.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 16 Reviews by SiteBuilder.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

alex smith avatar
alex smith peerlesshomeservices.com
Mar 07, 2017

WOW! Where to start. I got my domain with this company a year ago.

Everything was ok until, for whatever reason, they stopped drafting my account for the billing. So, my domain expired! I received a call the day it expired, and was told my domain couldn’t be automatically debited anymore, so I would have to pay on my own every month.

I renewed on the phone and thought I was set. Instead, a few days later, I happened to check and saw my domain was now expired! I called and spoke to "customer no service".

Unfortunately, like a lot of companies who don’t give a flip, they have their support in India! So, since I couldn’t understand anything this guy was saying, I had to call back. I was informed that, even though I paid days ago, it would take up to 2 working days to get my site back up.

This made no sense to me, since all they have to do is go to your account and check a box! Supposedly my problem was to be "escalated" Which of course means nothing. 2 days later, my site is still down!! Run from this company!!!!!

I even posted negative reviews on their Facebook page. Instead of apologizing, they only took down my posts and now I can’t even post. Again, Run from this company!!!!!

Visit Host →

Holly Cunningham avatar
Holly Cunningham hcdesigns.info
Feb 21, 2017

Most horrible experience on my life. Customer service does not help you at all. Took forever to get anything solved when they billed me for nonsense, and they still didn’t give me my money back.

Came time to renew my purchase ( bought it in march of 2016) and they tried billing me in November for it. No way i was renewing. On top of that, when it came closer to march to renew, they just called me every single day even when i specially told them NOT to, I’m busy.

Then they said if i wanted a discounted renewal price i HAD to do it over the phone… no thanks, i’ll do it online myself so i don’t get a scammer. Worst ever. Pay a little more to get way better service.

Visit Host →

Turner Davis avatar
Turner Davis wakeupyourcity.com
Feb 19, 2017

The worst nightmare. I have constantly over the last year of my contract with sitebuilder have been going back and forth with keeping my site up and running. For some reason my site has not been working and just randomly goes down without notice.

Every time I contact Customer Service, they make up something and I know it’s not true. I paid for two years of service with a domain and they still continue to try to say my domain expired. It’s outright a fraud.

I have been embarrassed over the past year with my service with site builder. Don’t put the confidence of this company in the hands of this hosting company. They will ruin your Business.

Visit Host →

Ruben Garcia avatar
Ruben Garcia gigsanantonio.org
Feb 07, 2017

I’ve been with Sitebuilder for about four years and built multiple. Love the free sites but you are responsible for listing and promoting it, which is as it should be but you can pay more to have them do it. Rocky start but that was due to my ancient computers.

On modern machines the build interface is well laid out and fairly easy to navigate. There seems to be no limit except your imagination to what you can create. If I have an issue, customer service has been extremely quick and helpful.

Although I never use email or phone for support, I find the text service absolutely great. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. I don’t understand all the issues others have had with their support.

I really don’t. The bad. They will charge you for everything above a basic website.

For instance, I recently saved my site and discovered I had accidentally deleted most of it. Once you save, that’s it. Unless, you purchase their time machine type function.

I just did a web search for my site and opened a cached version. Lost a little bit but using sitebuilders tools I rebuilt the site in a snap and it came out better than the first version. Also, when you sign up you are not informed that Your Site will be rendered at a slower speed.

I was wondering why it took so long to load, even on high speed networks. Want it faster? You need to pay more.

That must end. Overall, for your new to website building (such as myself) I highly recommend Sitebuilder.

Visit Host →

Sarika Tiwari avatar
Sarika Tiwari yatricabs.com
Jun 19, 2018

sitemap issue with sitebuilder is very big issue, due to this problem could not site get index, sitebuilder should rectify this issue, very bad experience I had, I will not recommend anyone, still the time they do not resolve this problem, and also I will share this on all social media

Visit Host →

dave rosa avatar
dave rosa besttaxrelief.org
Nov 11, 2017

the support is horrible. I have been trying to get google webmaster tools verified to my website. I cannot get it verified.

Sitebuilder support is totally hopeless. They have been totally inept and useless. I will be cancelling this service. If I can’t get my website verified, what good is it?

Visit Host →

WEI SHI avatar
WEI SHI linghang.ca
Mar 23, 2017

My domain was expired, nobody tells me why, I paid whole fee the domain should be available until year 2018, I called their service phone number, it didn’t work, so I had to use online chat to contact them, finally a representative replied me, I was told my domain was deleted, it really surprised me, I asked them who did that and when, no reply, and no any apology, and even asked me to wait 2 days for restoring my domain, really a nightmare, we are doing online education, parents and children need to use website submitting their homework and teachers need to use the website to correct their homework, I really cannot understand what they are doing and how they are running this company! Terrible company!!!

Visit Host →

Bo Xu avatar
Bo Xu boxurealty.com
Oct 20, 2016

Stay away from Sitebuilder, right now I’m full of regret and frustration. After I bought a sitebuilder pro plan, I found the functionality of sitebuilder is very weak, sitebuilder doesn’t offer you multiple blog pages in one website ( Weebly can let you add as many blog pages as you want into your website) and the storage is so limited (only 5G). So I ask for refund, I pay 55.30 for purchasing a pro plan, but as of right now I only get 34.44 refund.

They return me this amount of money in 3 times, that’s really a painful process. And also when I communicated with support staff, every time there is different person dealing with me, so I just can’t help doubt they used fake names for technical supporting. Compare to other website host providers, the only advantage of shipbuilder is theme editing, it’s really powerful and easy to use.

Visit Host →

Matt Graham avatar
Matt Graham uber-cf.com
Sep 30, 2016

I used SiteBuilder.com to create a website for one of my classes being that I am a college student. I only needed my website for a short period of time so I just purchased it for a few months. It was very easy and convenient to use, my website did look very professional and I ended up getting a good grade on my project.

The main problem I have with this company is they don’t know when to stop calling you once you stop your subscription. I can’t count with my hands the amount of calls I have received and the numbers I have to keep blocking in order for them to stop contacting me. I have told them over and over again what I needed it for and why I ended my subscription, but they just don’t give up.

Usually it’s a call from someone who can barely speak English. I tell them each time and it just doesn’t register that I am done with using their product. It was a great site for what I needed, I just didn’t realize their policy with customers who don’t need their service anymore… My advice if you do use this company and do not intend on keeping Your Site up for an extended period of time, is do not give them your phone number!

Visit Host →

Adrienne  Dymesich avatar
Adrienne Dymesich thesunriseranch.com
Mar 15, 2016

I built a website using this company that I really liked. It was fun to do and proved very effective for our Business. However one day, after three months, I could not login.

It just said "user could not be found". There was the end of the good experience. The support only gave me links to change my password and then user email for the login.

None of this resolved the problem! Same message and unable to edit my site! Now they do not answer my emails or my phone calls!!!!

I have no idea what to do but start all over somewhere else. A good website takes a Long time to build and fine tune! Now I doubt that I can even get the same web address that is a part of my sales contact everywhere!

You would think that they would be able to fix this and not just give up and block me! I would be thrilled if they would fix this, but until then I am warning everyone everywhere! Stay away from Sitebuilder!!!!

Visit Host →

Load More

Simplified Control Panel

Unlike most hosting plans that include a somewhat confusing control panel, when you log in to SiteBuilder, you’re presented with a list of your hosted sites and an “edit” button to start making changes. All of your account tools, including domain features, marketing tools, and add-on items are available from a simple left navigation pane.

Support and Customer Service

Support is available via an online knowledgebase and email.

Backups

SiteBuilder saves a single backup of every file you create or upload to your site. If something happens to your site, they will attempt to replace that data with their saved version. 

Unfortunately, they can’t make any guarantees. Since the only way you can access your website is through their own control panel, you don’t have the option of manually backing up your site the way you do with most hosting plans.

Billing and Payment Policies

SiteBuilder accepts payment via Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and PayPal. You can choose to pay monthly, annually, or bi-annually. As with most hosts, the longer term you sign up for, the lower price you will receive.

Plans can be cancelled at any time by sending an email to SiteBuilder, but plans still under contract are subject to an early termination fee. They offer a 14 day money back guarantee period, which is shorter than many hosts; however, since you can build and test your site for free before upgrading to a paid service, this shouldn’t be a concern.

Conclusion

If you are looking for the absolute simplest service to create and maintain your website, this is probably the host for you. The drag and drop website builder couldn’t be easier to use, and the simplified control panel makes it a breeze to manage your account.

Unfortunately, this simplicity also makes SiteBuilder incredibly limited in terms of services and features you have access to. If you see yourself needing anything beyond a standard website and blog, you should find a true hosting service that includes a simple, drag and drop website builder, which most hosts do. Price-wise, you can find significantly less expensive plans available that offer considerably more features.

A final word of caution. Their terms of service specifically states that there are no transfers permitted. If you decide a year from now to host your website with someone else, you’ll need to rebuild it from the ground up. You can’t just copy your server files to your new host, like you can with most hosting services.

So if you’re committed to this service, or just don’t mind rebuilding your site in the future, go ahead and test our your free website. But if you think you might switch hosts at some point, you would be better off finding a hosting plan with a popular CMS or FTP access, so you can easily take your website with you anywhere you go.

Most Popular SiteBuilder.com Hosting Plans

Premium Business eCommerce
Disk Space
Bandwidth
Price $7.95 / mo $9.95 / mo $17.95 / mo
Visit SiteBuilder.com Visit SiteBuilder.com Visit SiteBuilder.com

SiteBuilder.com Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is SiteBuilder?

    SiteBuilder is a website builder tool that allows you to create a functional website quickly. It’s designed to be easy-to-use, so you don’t need any knowledge of web development or code. SiteBuilder.com is a hosting company that provides access to this tool. There are four paid plans available.

Most Popular SiteBuilder.com Alternatives

Web.com logo

Starts at:

$5.95

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Wix logo

Starts at:

$4.08

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Weebly logo

Starts at:

$8

(per month)

Visit Host

Read Reviews

Jaramy Conners

About Jaramy Conners

Jaramy has been a technical writer for many years, specializing in privacy, identity theft, blogging, business, and communications writing. But he's also a children's writer. His short story "Steve" won the Hunger Mountain Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing. He lives with his wife in upstate New York.

Connect with Jaramy