StableHost Review: Do 19 Users Think They’re Stable?

StableHost specializes in providing powerful and secure hosting for everyone from new website creators to larger, established businesses. It’s a privately-owned company with almost a decade of experience as a hosting provider.

The company is comprised of a small team of people who are passionate about web hosting and are dedicated to helping their customers meet their hosting needs with utmost levels of care and support.

Determined to provide user-friendly and powerful hosting to their customers, StableHost runs industry-standard control panels and their hosting infrastructure houses top-of-the-line hardware.

They beat the competition with a 45-day money-back guarantee on all shared hosting accounts. The company also offers the typical 99.9% uptime guarantee and applies a credit to your account if they fail to meet this expectation.

StableHost Web Host Review

Clustered Web Hosting for Higher Reliability

StableHost’s uses shared cluster web hosting. This is different from traditional hosting where your website is placed on one server. Instead, cluster hosting stores your website on the best available server and monitors the drives every 60 seconds for errors.

If the system detects a problem, it automatically moves your website to another drive. In the event of hardware failure, websites on cluster hosting shouldn’t be down for more than 60 seconds.

This technology also allows for automatic load balancing, so your resources can be scaled up in the event of website visitor spikes. This can prevent server overloads. Visitor spikes on your website will be handled with their 200Gbps network.

StableHost has datacenters in Phoenix, Chicago, and Amsterdam which allows them to stretch their reach globally. Their servers use fast SSD drives to make sure your websites load quickly and run with optimal performance. StableHost also performs 24/7 server monitoring.

StableHost Hosting Plans

Stablehost.com Reviews by Our Community

Overall Rating from 19 Reviews by Stablehost.com Customers

Support
Quality
Features
Value

Most Helpful Reviews

John Weissberg avatar
John Weissberg printscience.com
Mar 15, 2018

At first, I was very happy with our reseller accounts at Stablehost. The servers my reseller accounts were on must have been new and fairly empty. Recently, the servers have become much more heavily loaded and my sites are Slow.

Here is a screenshot showing a server load factor > 40. I have even seen load factors > 50:

Not a day goes by without one of my customers complaining about site speed. Now I must figure out how to migrate over 100 accounts to a new host. Very unhappy.

Visit Host →

Sachin Verma avatar
Sachin Verma bitdoz.com
Nov 09, 2013

I am rating stablehost 5 stars, because I have been using their shared web hosting for past 1 year, I have never faced any issue with them. Their support and technical team is very very good. They almost reply instantly to support tickets and emails.

Visit Host →

Chezzy Hakuya avatar
Chezzy Hakuya chezzyis.moe
May 21, 2015

Ah, StableHost. For people who want this short and sweet: StableHost is, indeed, stable. But that’s not all there is.

StableHost is that type of hosting service with a cherry on top. For the price, it’s much more, say, bang for your buck. My website (hosted by StableHost, my domain is hosted by another company) has been running very smoothly since I switched over from another hosting company which wasn’t as great.

The speed of which my website loads actually takes less than a second now. Overall, for someone who manages a personal blog and multiple MySQL databases for blog posts and user entries for various programs, even the most basic hosting plan of $3.95 per month would be great. Let’s start with one of the most important criteria: support.

I’ll be honest, I haven’t talked to support at all. I can’t give my opinion on the quality of their support because I haven’t had any problems or trouble with my website; everything has been, and still is, running smoothly. However, the StableHost team seems to be a very friendly group of people.

I’m sure their support is much more than decent. Since I can’t do much on support, I’ll move on to their features. My current plan is the Shared Hosting Plus account (20GB disk space; $9.95 per month).

I haven’t noticed any problems with reliability (uptime, site load times, etc). However, I’ve noticed that when I replace .php or .html files to my site using my FTP client, it usually takes more than one refresh for changes to appear on the site. Replacing .css files takes a tad bit more time for changes to appear (around 5 minutes).

It’s not too big of an issue, but I’d recommend testing Your Site on your own hard drive (making sure your .css is just the way you want it) before uploading all of your files to their server. Besides this, my hosting account came with cPanel and the likes, just as a regular standard host would see fit. Your website loading speeds, though, will have an apparent decrease in loading times as their servers run SSD drives.

Another feature that they claim to serve is unlimited bandwidth. Of course, there is no such thing as "unlimited" bandwidth or "unlimited" disk space. They do limit you on the number of entry processes, but that’s just to prevent abuse.

Next is uptime. I’m genuinely impressed at the great uptime I’m having with my site. On my old webhost, there would be plenty of times where many of my users would open one of my programs that would ping my website for login and authentication, but they were met with an error stating that the program couldn’t connect.

I’d get messages saying that they can’t login to my program, and so I would open my website up and I wouldn’t be able to connect. I switched to StableHost, though, and I’ve never had a time where I, or any of my other clients, was unable to login to my program because my website was down. The last of the four criteria: value.

Again, I’m speaking for the Shared Hosting plan. I have no need for a VPS or dedicated hosting (yet). With that being said, I think that $3.95 per month for a plan with 3GB disk space is a great choice (especially since basic websites usually take less than 10MB).

I wanted the most disk space, though, so I bought the $9.95 per month plan with 20GB disk space. Still, it’s a great choice. You get great speeds from a great host for a great price.

What’s the catch? Nothing, really. StableHost really is stable.

As I close this review, I will reiterate that I only have a Shared Hosting plan, not a VPS or dedicated hosting (I don’t have much more money, sadly). However, website (and programming + web development) enthusiasts will love StableHost, especially if they’re on a budget. I fully recommend StableHost to anyone who needs a great hosting service.

Visit Host →

Sarah Webster avatar
Sarah Webster mybrushbetty.com
Jan 17, 2015

I wish I could give a zero here. From the beginning, I got pretty poor site speeds from Stable hosts. I was drawn in by the price, but never again.

After dealing with their technical service, I was continually upsold to more service as a way to improve site speeds. But it never improved. The worst part was I paid two years in advance for service (fool me once), and they absolutely refused to give me my money back for unused service paid in advance.

They said that they only provide refunds when the service is cancelled within 45 days. … Even though my service was paid in advance, they would not refund the unused service. I find this unethical to be honest.

Fortunately, I have found another host that I am happy with for the moment, but I will never pay in advance again. If you are tempted to use this hosting service, I would encourage you to read their terms of service carefully.

Visit Host →

MOHAN RAJ avatar
MOHAN RAJ mycyberincome.com
Jan 16, 2015

I bought Stablehost.com 3 months before and I’m 100% Satisfied with its service. I won’t satisfy easily and Kudos to StableHost team for the consistency. As the name suggests [Stable]Host, they are more stable than all other companies.

All the servers are run by SSD drives which makes your website to load faster than ever. My site is down for 3 minutes in my entire life time. The only concern is No chat support through Mail support is active all time. If you want to different from other websites then StableHost wont disappoint you

Visit Host →

eli sultanov avatar
eli sultanov webdesignmail.com
Nov 22, 2014

I am mind blow with those guys. I own a large web site that is dedicated to web design and we get around of 1K views daily and we are growing daily. There servers seem to not even care about traffic lol.

Even if i get 2.5k views a day the server seem to not even have any issues with that. There support is quick (10 minutes to reply) They have special agent that help if the regular support can fix and that takes less than an hour. They are really welcoming and are making you feel like you are part of a better family.

The prices might seem high by a bit, but with the coupons they give you it just a good investment. I thought about joining them for a couple of months now and i’m glad i did, should have joined earlier. You guys are awesome, keep it up.

Visit Host →

do quang tuan avatar
do quang tuan cuahangtenmien.com
Sep 23, 2012

This is a service that provides relatively good.99.99% uptime rate, this is a very impressive figure.However, website access speed is not fast, especially in countries far from the United States. Process support website is also not good. I have sent a ticket to them and about 24 hours for them to respond.However, with a price of less than $ 4/month with incentives as site look, voucher Facebook, google vouchers…

then their services are worth noting. Their services used vdeck 4 to manage the hosting, domain name account. If you use vdeck 4 for the first time will make you experience much surprise. And I see vdeck 4 more unwieldy from cpanel views.If you have less money, you use this hosting.

Visit Host →

do quang tuan avatar
do quang tuan prewpthemes.com
Sep 20, 2012

Is admin site http://prewpthemes.com/ I’m used stablehost 3 months ago. I am very happy with the services of this page. I pay $ 35 for one year of use.

Very cheap but fast website, 99.99% uptime, support me very well. Send tickets only 30 phuts will have the answer. I enjoyed stablehost. I encourage you to use them.

Visit Host →

Mark Stockdale avatar
Mark Stockdale babyswingworld.com
Jun 01, 2016

I have nothing to but good things to say about Stablehost. They have an uptime of 99.9%. It does not get much better than that.

In addition, I found the speed of my WordPress sites to be very good. Compared to my previous hosting, Stablehost is light years ahead. They use SSD drives exclusively, which adds to the speed.

Also, they allow for unlimited bandwidth. I don’t currently use a lot, but it’s nice to know it is available should I need it in the future. Stablehost’s pricing is very competitive.

I actually consider it to be quite a bargain. It’s $4.95 per month for their cheap hosting, but I paid about half of that when purchased 2 years of hosting up front. I’ve had very good experience dealing with their support as well.

I’ve not needed them often, but when I did they were extremely helpful. They were also quite fast at getting back to me. I would recommend Stablehost to anyone.

Visit Host →

christ haight avatar
christ haight daddyweb.net
Jun 20, 2016

I am using a reseller hosting at Stablehost and want post a review here and hopefully will help some one who is looking for a reseller hosting. I am a student designer and developer since 2012, I have over 20 clients and most of them using WordPress and Drupal. I’ve host all my client’s sites at HostGator at the first time but HG become sucks when EIG bought them so I moved all my clients to Stablehost.

They helped me move all clients/cpanel/settings/e-mails etc..to their server without of cost, this is a plus (+) for their friendly services. They’re using Nginx web server, pure SSD for shared hosting as well as reseller hosting with Vanish cached installed, Litespeed PHP caching installed. These are really great features, all websites loading so fast

The support was great for me and clients too, they usually answer the ticket in 15-30 minutes

Only one problems is the default upload size for each created hosting is only 2MB and clients usually asking me how to set bigger upload size.

I have no option to change this size for each created account. Anyway, I put a small how to change the upload size into the welcome e-mail so everything is solved

Their uptime also great when they changed from Litespeed web server to Nginx, I didn’t see any downtime report from uptime monitor service

Overall, Stablehost is a good choice if you’re looking for a reseller hosting, their Enterprise package also very good too. Hope my review will help you a little bit. :)

Regards,

Visit Host →

Load More

Web Hosting Plans with Unlimited Resources

You will have three options for shared web hosting plans. All of StableHost’s plans include unlimited disk space and bandwidth, as well as 24/7 email support. You will also be eligible for script troubleshooting and DDoS protection no matter what plan you choose.

StableHost’s cheapest plan is an affordable way for anyone to get their first website live. This plan will support only one website but provides all the resources you need to get started online.

Their more expensive plans are suited for businesses and allow for the hosting of unlimited websites. Their highest-level plan is designed for larger websites and will give you VIP 24/7 phone support along with a higher number of maximum files and MySQL connections.

This plan also includes SpamExperts spam filtering for email as well as repairs if your website is hacked or compromised in any way.

SSL certificates can be purchased additionally from StableHost. These are essential for anyone running an e-commerce store as they protect your customers when they are entering payment information on your website.

Standard Control Panel and Developer Tools

StableHost uses the popular cPanel control panel. This control panel provides you with unlimited MySQL Databases and FTP accounts. The control panel includes access to Webalizer, Analog, and Awstats for web log analysis and statistics. You will also be able to conduct daily backups via the cPanel interface by using R1Soft.

Through cPanel, users can access the Site.Pro web builder for designing websites by drag and drop. This is an easy way to build a responsive website in 45 different languages.

StableHost also gives you Softaculous for one-click scripts, so you can install applications such as WordPress or Joomla as easily as possible. This makes Stablehost a good hosting option for people building a website or blog on WordPress.

Advanced users and developers will want to know what kind of control they can have over their hosting environment and websites. For this, StableHost supports

  • PHP 5.3.x, 5.4.x, 5.5.x, 5.6.x, and 7.0.x
  • MariaDB and MySQL
  • Perl 5.8.8.

Customer Support for The Less Tech-Inclined

StableHost provides 24/7 email support to people on all of their plans. They typically respond to support-related questions within 20 minutes, all hours of the day. People paying for their most expensive plan will enjoy dedicated support and access to their 24/7 phone line.

On their website, StableHost has compiled a knowledgebase of articles and FAQ’s to help you get started and understand their included features.

Email Account Features

From the cPanel control panel, you can add new domains and email accounts easily. With all StableHost plans, you will get unlimited email accounts with unlimited forwards, auto-responders, and mailing lists.

Develop a mailing list and engage in valuable email marketing to drive traffic to your website and increase conversions.

For your email accounts, StableHost provides virus and spam filtering at an extra charge to people who are not paying for their highest-level shared hosting plan.

StableHost Reseller Hosting Plans

Reseller Hosting

Many web developers host some of their client’s websites for them. If this is something you are interested in doing, you may want to look into StableHost’s reseller hosting options. Even people who do not know how to code can build websites for clients using the Site.Pro website builder.

VPS Hosting is Available for More Power, Flexibility, and Control

Virtual private servers may be useful for people or businesses who have outgrown shared hosting. This is great for people that need a customizable hosting environment and their own servers.

For users who want to install their own operating system, StableHost gives you KVM virtual machines at no extra charge. They also allow you to choose between their three datacenter locations.

People using StableHost’s VPS hosting plans will have access to their Level 3 support technicians who have a thorough knowledge of their servers.

StableHost Home Page

Affordable Hosting with Full Control

Although StableHost provides user-friendly hosting for people starting their own website for the first time, their services are geared towards people with experience using cPanel and developers who want more control.

With one-click application installs, StableHost may be a good option for people who just want an affordable hosting plan to run their WordPress website on. Businesses who need unlimited resources and high server reliability may also find StableHost to be a suitable hosting provider.

Most Popular Stablehost.com Hosting Plans

Starter
Disk Space Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited
Price $4.95 / mo
Usual price: Get % off!
Visit Stablehost.com
Toni Allen

About Toni Allen

Webmaster, mom, juggler. Toni manages the day-to-day operations of WhoIsHostingThis. She is a keen hiker, climber, and outdoors explorer.

Connect with Toni

Review Stablehost.com & Get A Free Domain Name If We Publish It

Already a Stablehost.com customer? Write an honest & helpful review & earn a free domain from Domain.com if we publish it. Learn more…

1 How would you rate your experience with Stablehost.com?

Please give a star rating for Support, Features, Uptime and Value (each must be at least 1 star).

Support
Features
Uptime
Value

2 Write your review

Take a deep breath and think about exactly what you want to say about Stablehost.com.

Please be specific: we’re only interested in hearing that Stablehost.com rocks/sucks if you can explain why.

Your review needs to be at least 50 words long. Please write some more about your experience.

Back

3 Claim Your Free Domain

If we publish your review, you will earn a free domain from Domain.com.

Please enter First Name, Last Name, Your Email, Your Website URL and accept the Terms & Conditions.

Back

Terms and Conditions

Users who submit a genuine, unique user review of a hosting company they use which we then publish on WhoIsHostingThis.com qualify to receive a Domain.com gift voucher which entitles its holder to claim a domain name.

By submitting a review, you acknowledge that you understand and agree to these terms and conditions:

  1. This promotion is promoted by Quality Nonsense Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 27 Mortimer Street, London, W1T 3BL, UK.
  2. This promotion, including these Terms & Conditions, are governed by English law. Any disputes arising shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of England and Wales.
  3. Promotion starts Feb 1 2013. We may withdraw this offer at any time and for any reason.
  4. We may substitute an alternate prize of equivalent value at our sole discretion, vary these terms and conditions for any reason and at any time and end the promotion for any reason and at any time.
  5. Our judgement is final. No correspondence will be entered in to.
  6. Only reviews of selected hosts qualify for this promotion. The definitive list of hosts that are eligible for review in this promotion appears at the URL: https://www.whoishostingthis.com/free-domain/.
  7. We may reject any review for publication at any time and for any reason at our sole discretion.
  8. Reviews must be entirely your own work, unique and cannot have been previously published elsewhere.
  9. Only one free domain name may be claimed per person or per household.
  10. A Domain.com voucher code will be sent by email to Reviewers whose reviews are published in the calendar month following publication. For example, a qualifying review published in May 2019 would receive a gift voucher by the end of June 2019.

Domain.com Terms & Conditions

LIMITED TIME OFFER. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) and this offer expires December 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific. Coupon (and derivatives thereof) is good for a single free one (1) year new domain registration of any non-premium .COM, .NET, .ORG, .BIZ, .INFO, .CO, or .US domain name.** No minimum purchase required. All renewals on products and services after the initial discounted period will be charged at the then current standard list price for the selected period. Coupon is not valid with TLDs other than those specifically listed here, premium domains, domain renewals, domain transfers, custom website design, other coupons, or special pricing.

** Eligible up to a total $10.99 discount for the domain.
** Customers must use a credit card. Unfortunately we cannot offer free domains via PayPal.

Thanks! We’ve received your Stablehost.com review. We’ll contact you once your review has been moderated (c. 1-2 weeks).